E-Goverance ( CSC)

About Common Services Centres Scheme

Implemented under the National e-Governance Plan (NeGP) formulated by the Department of Electronics and Information Technology (DeitY), Government of India, the Common Services Centers (CSCs) are ICT enabled front end service delivery points at the village level for delivery of Government, Financial, Social and Private Sector services in the areas of agriculture, health, education, entertainment, FMCG products, banking, insurance, pension, utility payments, etc.

The Scheme is being implemented in a public private partnership framework with a focus on rural entrepreneurship & market mechanisms. The CSCs have been set up by implementation partners called as Service Centre Agencies (SCA), who are appointed by State Designated Agencies (SDAs) through a transparent bid process. The CSCs are operated and managed by Village Level Entrepreneurs (VLEs) who are appointed by the SCAs.

The location of each of the one lakh CSCs is decided in consultation with the State Designated Agency (SDA) to serve a cluster of 6-7 villages, thereby covering close to 6.50 lakh villages across India. This is the world’s largest government approved ICT enabled network and is ideally positioned to strengthen India’s banking network, by extending the business correspondent network.

To facilitate the successful implementation of the CSC Scheme, a Special Purpose Vehicle (SPV) named “CSC e-Governance Services India Ltd” has been incorporated under the Companies Act 1956. The SPV aims to:

Ensure systemic viability & sustainability of the CSC Scheme

Monitor achievements of the outcomes by the CSCs

Enable delivery of G2C and B2C services through CSCs

Provide a standardized framework for collaborative decision making

Build stakeholder capacity and replicate best practices

Common Services Centers : Innovative Rural micro-Enterprises in India